Quality and Standards Sub Committee

The National Federation’s Sub Committee on Quality and Standards is responsible for overseeing the implementation of this strategic priority and is tasked with the specific objectives of:

Considering and advising on how best to support and include people with a disability, and their families, in decisions that affect their lives;

  • Contributing to the shaping and implementation of the HIQA National Standards / Regulations in residential disability services;
  • Providing practical support to member organisations in the implementation of the Adult Safeguarding and Children First Policies;
  • Contributing to the shaping of review of the New Directions National Standards for Day Services;
  • Providing practical support to member organisations in the implementation of appropriate quality systems;
  • Identifying innovative and best practice quality developments for dissemination throughout the Federation;
  • Ensuring that the value add, which a vibrant community and voluntary sector brings to the lives of people with intellectual disability, is articulated and understood.

Ms. Anna Shakespeare, Chief Executive, St. Michael’s House, is the Chair of the Quality & Standards Sub Committee.

Click on the link to read about their Programme of Work 

Membership of Quality & Standards Sub-Committee 

Anna Shakespeare (Chair) – St. Michael’s House     
Bernie O Sullivan – COPE Foundation           
Brian O’ Donnell- National Federation of Voluntary Bodies,
Bernard O’Regan - Western Care Association
Claire O'Dowd - St. Christophers   
Eileen Costello Conneely - Ability West
Elaine Teague - St. Michael's House
Eoin Mooney - Dara Community Living
Geraldine Galvin - Daughters of Charity (Limerick)
Grainne Sexton - Gheel
Maura Crowley - Kerry Parents & Friends Association         
Margaret Glacken - Brothers of Charity National
Margaret Larkin - SOS Kilkenny
Mary McGrath - Carriglea Services
Michael Farrell - St. Michael's House
Roger Greengrass - Waterford Intellectual Disability AssociationSandra Burke - Walk
Sarah Jane Dillon  - Daughters of Charity Services
Sheila Buckley Byrne - St. Hilda’s     
Teresa Mallon - SJOG  
Jillian Sexton – National Federation of Voluntary Bodies           
​Mary Barrett - National Federation of Voluntary Bodies

Further Information

For further information please contact Jillian Sexton, National Federation of Voluntary Bodies, Tel: 091-792316 or by email at jillian.sexton@fedvol.ie. 


© 2019 National Federation of Voluntary Bodies,
  • Oranmore Business Park Oranmore Galway Ireland.
  • Phone: +353 91 792316
  • Fax:
  • Email: info@fedvol.ie
Website Last Updated: 13/06/2019 Web Design by Webtrade


Search - Use spaces to separate your keywords
Welcome to the National Federation of Voluntary Bodies