Our Structure

 How we are Governed

Member Organisations:  We have 57 member organisations 
General Assembly:  Each member organisation is represented by 2 people from their organisation at the National Federation General Assembly which meets on a quarterly basis 
Areas Federation Committees:  There are 5 Area Federation Committees:

  • Dublin North-East Area Federation Committee;
  • Dublin Mid-Leinster Area Federation Committee;
  • Southern Area Federation Committee;
  • South-Eastern Area Federation Committee; and
  • Western Area Federation Committee.

Each Area Federation Committee is made up of representatives from member organisations in the area/region where they provide services.    

Board of Directors:  In accordance with our Constitution, the National Federation of Voluntary Service Providers arranges for the election of its Board of Directors as follows:

Each Area Federation Committee has the power to elect two directors to the Board and which currently are as follows:

  • Dublin Mid Leinster: Joe Mason (Walk) & Breda O'Neill (IRL-IASD)
  • Dublin North East: Natalya Jackson (Daughters of Charity Services) 
  • Southern Area: Sean Abbott (COPE Foundation) & Marie Linehan (KPFA)
  • South East Area: Vincent O'Flynn (Carriglea) & Fiona O'Neill (WIDA)
  • Western Area:  Michael Hennessy (Brothers of Charity) & Audrey Pidgeon, CEO, Ability West

The above Directors have the power to nominate up to 5 co-options, however, one must come from each of the following geographical areas: Dublin North East; Dublin Mid Leinster and Western Region.

The current co-options to the Board are as follows:

  • Dublin North East:              Liz Reynolds (St. Michael’s House)  
  • Dublin Mid Leinster:           Clare Dempsey (St. John of God Community Services)
  • Western Region:                Vacant Position               
  • Family Member :                Vacant Position

The Board elects a Chairperson every two years.  Michael Hennessy, Chief Executive of Brothers of Charity Ireland is the current chair, elected in September 2021. The Vice Chair is Fiona O'Neill, Chief Executive of Waterford Intellectual Disability Association. The Board is responsible for the governance of the National Federation in accordance with its Constitution and directs the National Federation's work programme.  In terms of the financial management of the National Federation the Board has in place a Finance, Audit and Risk Sub Committee to oversee this task. 

© 2021 National Federation of Voluntary Service Providers
  • Oranmore Business Park Oranmore Galway Ireland.
  • Phone: +353 91 792316
  • Fax:
  • Email: info@fedvol.ie
Website Last Updated: 25/11/2021 Web Design by Webtrade


Search - Use spaces to separate your keywords
Welcome to the National Federation of Voluntary Bodies